General introduction

The European Initiative on Security Studies (EISS) is a Europe-wide cluster of over eighty universities that share the goal of consolidating security studies in Europe.

The Aim of the EISS

The EISS is a Europe-wide network of over eighty universities (see below for the list of participating universities) that share the goal of consolidating security studies in Europe.

The aim of the European Initiative on Security Studies is two-fold. The first goal of the EISS is to develop and sustain a Europe-wide network in the field of security studies, with an annual conference and permanent thematic standing groups in which scholars can present their current projects. This gives visibility to the range of individual and collective research projects currently underway in Europe. The second goal is to establish a forum for the exchange of ideas in order to foster new joint research projects and develop international research partnerships. The EISS annual conference is therefore not a standard conference based exclusively on paper presentations, but is conceived as a forum for fostering international research cooperation. For this reason there are no “discussants” per se and presentations are aimed at generating discussions between the audience and the panel, moderated by the chair. The thematic panels provide the opportunity not only to engage with papers and existing research projects but also to generalize about the future research potential of specific topics or approaches (theoretical, epistemological, methodological, empirical etc.)

The EISS has three main characteristics: it is (i) thematically-driven and open to all theoretical approaches, (ii) interdisciplinary and (iii) geographically inclusive. First, the EISS is not only limited to one specific theoretical approach to security studies but rather seeks to be inclusive. It is organized in panels that cover a large range of themes in the field of security studies. The EISS is interdisciplinary in that it gathers among others historians, political scientists, geographers and sociologists sharing an interest in developing security studies in Europe. Finally, the EISS seeks to be as inclusive as possible from a geographical perspective.

EISS Governing Board

Director of the EISS:  Hugo Meijer, European University Institute, Italy

EISS Governing Board Members:

  1. Isabelle Duyvesteyn, Leiden University, Netherlands
  2. Flavia Gasbarri, King’s College London, United Kingdom
  3. Mauro Gilli, ETH-Zurich, Switzerland
  4. Marina Henke, European University Institute, Italy
  5. Beatrice Heuser, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom
  6. Ulrich Krotz, European University Institute, Italy
  7. Alice Pannier, Johns Hopkins University/SAIS, United States
  8. Olivier Schmitt, Southern Denmark University, Denmark
  9. Luis Simón, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
  10. Marco Wyss, Lancaster University, United Kingdom



The 2017 EISS annual conference

The EISS annual conference is organized by the Association for the Study of War and Strategy (AEGES). Its first annual (two-days) conference took place on January 13-14, 2017, at the University Panthéon-Assas (Paris 2), in collaboration with the Center Thucydides and the Center for Studies and Research on Administrative and Political Science (CERSA) of Paris 2.

The summary of the 2017 edition of the Conference is available for download here: EISS 2017, Final publication.

The 2018 EISS annual conference

The article relating to the 2018 annual conference, with every participating universities, panels and interventions, can be found here: link.

Universities and Research Centers represented at the 2018 EISS Conference:

— Epoka University
— Austrian Institute for International Affairs
— University of Antwerp
— Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Czech Republic
— Charles University Prague
— Metropolitan University Prague
— Royal Danish Defense College
— University of Southern Denmark
— Auvergne University (Clermont-Ferrand)
— École Normale Supérieure
— European Union Institute for Security Studies
— Foundation for Strategic Research (FRS)
— French Institute of International Relations (IFRI)
— Institute for Strategic Research (IRSEM)
— Laboratoire d’Économie d’Orléans – Bureau des Recherches Géologiques et Minières
— Panthéon-Assas University (Paris II)
— School for Advanced Studies in the Social Sciences (EHESS)
— Sciences Po
— University of Caen
— University of Toulouse
— University François Rabelais-Tours
— University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne
— University Paris 2 Panthéon-Assas
— University Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3
— University Lumière Lyon 2
— University of Grenoble Alpes
— Saint-Cyr Military Academy
— University of Bordeaux
— University Paris-8
— Free University Berlin
— Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich
— RWTH Aachen University
— University of Kiel
— University of Potsdam
— University of Akureyri
— University of Iceland
— Dublin City University
— European University Institute
— Link Campus University
— LUISS University “Guido Carli”, Rome
— University of Bologna
— University of Florence
— University of Milan
— University of Naples
— University of Siena
— Erasmus University Rotterdam
— Leiden University
— Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
— University of Amsterdam
— Norwegian Institute for Defense Studies
— University of Oslo
— University of Lodz
— University Institute of Lisbon – ISCTE
— EuroMesco
— Instituto Barcelona d’Estudis Internacionals
— Universidad Europea de Madrid
— Universidad Complutense de Madrid
— Universidad de Cádiz
— ETH Zurich/CSS
United Kingdom
— City, University of London
— University of Cambridge
— Chatham House
— King’s College London
— Middlebury Institute of International Studies
— University of St. Andrews
— University of Warwick
— University of Bristol
— University of Manchester
— University of Leicester
— University of Reading
— University of Strathclyde
— University of Glasgow
— University of Oxford
Outside Europe
— Carnegie Middle East Center, Lebanon
— Center for Strategic and International Studies
— Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
— Harvard University, USA
— Northwestern University, USA
— San Jose State University, USA
— School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS), Johns Hopkins University, USA
— Texas A&M University, USA
— University of Canterbury, New Zealand
— University of Chicago, USA
— University of Minnesota, USA
— Universidad Nacional de La Plata, Argentina
— University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA
— Yale University, USA